Courses Descriptions

Basic Handgun Class

The Basic Handgun Class is designed to teach the basic care, cleaning, maintenance and use of handguns. This class is NOT for license to carry licensing.

This course can be taken by anyone 18 years of age or older. It is also a good class for anyone wanting to learn new skills and knowledge or to refresh prior training. The classroom training will be conducted over a four hour period. In addition to the classroom training, the hands-on training will take place at a local gun range. For safety concerns, the instructor will not use reloaded ammunition.

The gun range fee is NOT included in the cost for the instruction. You will be responsible for paying the gun range fee to the range owner. NOTE: The gun range only accepts cash or check.

CCTEX will provide the guns for training. The cost for this course includes ten rounds of ammunition per firearm.

 

Texas License to Carry Class

The Texas Licensing Class to Carry (LTC) is required by the State of Texas so that an individual, who is at least 21 years old (or 18 years old if active military), can apply and obtain, if approved, a License to Carry (LTC) in order to carry a handgun within the state.

The training is conducted in one day, with the classroom portion of the training conducted generally in the morning and then a trip to a local gun range in order to meet the state handgun proficiency qualifications.

The training can take place either at my location or your location if you have four or more individuals. Note: You will need to call me, (512) 775-8804, if you would like to setup the training at a place of your choice.
Important

Prior to the training, participants should apply online through the Texas Department of Public Safety’s Handgun Licensing webpage at: https://www.txdps.state.tx.us/rsd/ltc/index.htm.

The state requires 4 to 6 license to carry handgun classroom training hours. The handgun proficiency portion is in addition to the classroom hours. Prior to the training, applicants shall be familiar and proficient with their handgun, because time does not allow for practice with or siting in the gun. The handgun can be a semi-automatic or revolver of .22 caliber or higher. NOTE: For state qualification, reloaded ammunition cannot be used.

The gun range fee is NOT included in the cost for the instruction. You will be responsible for paying the gun range fee to the range owner. NOTE: The gun range only accepts cash or check.

CCTEX does not provide the gun for training; this is the responsibility of the student(s).

 

Defensive Pistol Class

The Defensive Pistol class is designed to teach valuable skills in gun handling, tactics and necessary mind set for success in handgun engagements.

This course can be taken by anyone 21 years of age or older, unless active duty military then it can be taken by anyone 18 years of age or older. It is also a good class for anyone wanting to learn new skills and knowledge. This class is four hours of hands-on training that will take place at a local gun range. For safety concerns, reloaded ammunition is not allowed for this course.

The gun range fee is NOT included in the cost for the instruction. You will be responsible for paying the gun range fee to the range owner. NOTE: The gun range only accepts cash or check.

CCTEX does not provide the gun for training; this is the responsibility of the student(s).

 

Please call 512-775-8804 to find out more about the classes or schedule a training date.

Steel & More Fun Shoot – Uvalde, Texas – August 18, 2018

Please join the Texas Concealed Handgun Association (TCHA) as we host a Steel & More Fun Shoot on Saturday, August 18, 2018, in the Uvalde, Texas area. This event is geared for the everyday shooter. Read...

The Decision Tree By Kevin Michalowski (USCCA)

Do you want to be involved in a deadly force incident today? All of us should answer, “No!” However, in some sense, self-defense is not a choice. The requirement for self-defense is often thrust upon you, and you literally have no choice; you must attempt to defend...